Shenandoah, by Paul Robeson

19 Feb

“Oh, Shenandoah, I long to hear you
Look away, you rollin’ river
 Oh, Shenandoah, I long to hear you
Look away. We’re bound away
 Across the wide Missouri
Now the Missouri is a mighty river
Look away, you rollin’ river.
Indians camp along her border
Look away. We’re bound away
Across the wide Missouri
Well a white man loved an Indian maiden
 Look away, you rollin’ river
With notions his canoe was laden
Look away, we’re bound away
Across the wide Missouri
Oh Shenandoah, I love your daughter
 Look away, you rollin’ river
 It was for her I’d cross the water.
Look away, we’re bound away
Across the wide Missouri
For seven long years I courted Sally
 Look away, you rollin’ river
 Seven more years I longed to have her
 Look away, we’re bound away
Across the wide Missouri
Well, it’s fare-thee-well, my dear, I’m bound to leave you
 Look away you rollin’ river
Shenandoah, I will not deceive you
 Look away, we’re bound away
Across the wide Missouri”
Leave a Reply

